Recycling Water & Greenhouse Q's - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 3 Old 12-14-2001, 06:14 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I'm just full of gardening questions! This is a whole new world to me! I am so excited! I can't actually start my garden yet, as the house we are going to move to is not ready until the new year, but I am studying up now!

Does anyone here recycle their kitchen water for their gardens? I mean, water that food has been boiled or steamed with, etc... I have not found any mention of this, but dh suggested it in order to waste less, and I imagine the plants would like it.

Also, he is going to build a greenhouse, and thinks he should put it against the house where the exhaust hose from the dryer will blow heat in. Does this sound like a valid idea?

What other economical gardening tips can anyone suggest to save us poor folks some money getting started?

Just your typical non-theistic, liberal, blended family.

Thank you, Mothering, for the past twelve years of support and community. I look forward to many more.
rocks.jpggrouphug.gif

#2 of 3 Old 12-14-2001, 08:54 PM

re-using water- yes the water from boiling corn and potatoes is very good for plants. the best water is that which you have soaked cloth pads. VERY nutritious for the plants.

One day I hope to have a grey water system.

A greenhouse next to the house, my only advice on that would be to make sure you know where the sun will be and how the house will shade the greenhouse. Will there be ample shade in the summer? Will you be needing it in the summer? If you will be needing it in the summer and there is not enough shade, could you get shade cloth on it? What will he be building it out of?
#3 of 3 Old 12-15-2001, 01:15 AM

You have some great questions. I also need many answers for greenhouse growing. I had planned on posting a question, but had never got around to it.