White "powder" on my rose - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 10-08-2006, 01:10 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I have a miniature rose that I'm growing indoors. It's growing beautifully, but I noticed a white powdery substance on the leaves today. There isn't any dust in the area and, last I checked, I don't think my roses have a cocaine habit. Any clue what this is? This is my first time attempting to keep plants in my house. I've been doing well so far.

Jenn treehugger.gifmama to Monkeylearning.gifSquishyenergy.gif& Riverangel1.gif(8wks)Wife to Mikejog.gif See you at the rainbow1284.gif Bridge, Abigael cat.gifand McKenna dog2.gifgd.gifnamaste.giffamilybed2.gifbellyhair.gifcaffix.gifcrochetsmilie.gifom.gifknit.gifcomputergeek2.gif

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-08-2006, 03:16 AM

Powdery mildew. Very contagious, unattractive, but not life-threatening.

Make sure the rose has excellent air circulation, gets plenty of light and is never watered from above (including splashback from the soil). I live in the PNW, home of the fungusy roses, and live with this. I like to think it looks like snow.

mama to Max (2/02) and Sophie (10/06); wife to my fabulous girl
Old 10-10-2006, 11:40 PM - Thread Starter

Ahhhh, thank you. I'm glad it's not life-threatening. I was happy that this plant has done so well with me, since I'm new to keeping plants. I'd be upset if it got sick.
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxmama View Post
I like to think it looks like snow.

Jenn treehugger.gifmama to Monkeylearning.gifSquishyenergy.gif& Riverangel1.gif(8wks)Wife to Mikejog.gif See you at the rainbow1284.gif Bridge, Abigael cat.gifand McKenna dog2.gifgd.gifnamaste.giffamilybed2.gifbellyhair.gifcaffix.gifcrochetsmilie.gifom.gifknit.gifcomputergeek2.gif

Old 10-12-2006, 02:32 AM