best way to get rid of weeds and keep them from coming back - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 29 Old 06-30-2008, 07:30 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi, this is my first year gardening, we have a plot at our local community gardens, everything is growing pretty well, especially the weeds. I am seriously overtaken with weeds that I just can't seem to make a small dent in the garden by hand weeding. Is there something I can do to make it easier than tackling each weed one pluck at a time, and is there a way to keep them from popping back up once I have been successful. I am thinking of laying hay or something to block the sun and kill them, would this help? Of course I am looking for an organic approach.

Any ideas are much appreciated, TIA.

Molly, Mama, living in the burbs with a beehive and chicken coop,  herb student, gardener, crunchy and preggers with #3, due Nov 4th.flower.gif
The fruit of the spirit is: Love, joy, peace, patience, kindness,goodness, gentleness and self control.:
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 29 Old 06-30-2008, 08:39 PM

subscribing
#3 of 29 Old 06-30-2008, 09:53 PM

Plant more plants. The more you plant, the less space there is for weeds to grow.

Get a hula hoe and scrape the ground early in the season when weeds are small...you will end up with bare ground if done consistently.
#4 of 29 Old 06-30-2008, 11:23 PM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by janasmama View Post
Plant more plants. The more you plant, the less space there is for weeds to grow.

This is sooo true. It makes such a huge difference.

Also, I didn't grow up gardening-- I had noooo idea what a hoe was for (besides a cute gardening accesory). Last year trying to hand weed the flower beds (we didn't plant anything) was a nightmare.