Moving to New Delhi! Who is already there? Who has advice on India living? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 4 Old 06-01-2011, 02:32 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

We are moving there this month, I have a 6 and 4 year old. We will be homeschooling. (any leads on other HSers in the city?)

My husband will be working with basketball India, I am a midwife (a CPM) and hoping to do some charity work or help women with homebirths. I know about Birth India, this is a wonderful NGO!!!

I am looking for advice and thoughts on living in this city with kids. We are going to be looking for language lessons, and the typical lessons for kids music, art, sports and stuff like that.

Not sure where exactly in the city we will live, we will find an apartment once we get there!

I guess I am just looking for other families living in Delhi who are making it work!!!

looking forward to responses! Thanks ladies!

~Manga

mom to Zoe 12-04 and Titus 5-07 both:
#2 of 4 Old 11-16-2011, 09:34 AM

Hi, I moved to Delhi in July this year with my two kids. I live in Safdarjung Enclave. Have you connected with any families yet? Am also a member of Birth India though its not too active in Delhi. Although its not my line of work I'd love to hear about your interest in homebirths. A friend of mine has recently moved here from Canada and is setting up a maternity clinic in rural Rajastan (near Kota). I think part of their work is also to train traditional midwives.

PM me your mobile number and we'll try and connect. 

: mom to my little monkey 01/2006 my HBAC baby girl born 09/2009 
#3 of 4 Old 12-31-2011, 01:16 AM

Hi there!  There are a number of homeschoolers in Delhi, hope you have gotten in touch with them or they with you.  Just popping in to say hello because I am attending the Birth India Conference in January.  Will you be there?   Pasting info below:

Birth India's Annual Natural Childbirth Conference