Brown age spots--does anything really work? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 01-25-2010, 04:58 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I am 41 and over the past few years, I have developed nasty brown age spots on my face. I also have brown discoloration above my lips that looks like a mustache. Clearly, this is not a look that I am going for!

I am not a great looking lady, but at least I always had really nice skin. I am just mortified by this. Make up doesn't cover it unless I really slather it on, but I hate that look, too.

I have researched some products online, but hate to waste money. Does anything really work? I went to a dermatologist a few years ago, but she kind of blew me off . . . I'm not very good with doctors, so maybe I didn't make clear how much it bothered me.

Any advice?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 8 Old 01-28-2010, 10:29 AM

I have lightened/got rid of some brown spots from scars by using Kojic Acid in products. I bought a homemade product off of Ebay w/papaya and kojic acid in it. It works. You have to dab it only on the darkened area though. I think it's from a mushroom extract. It's better than hydroquinone or whatever it's called. GL!

Oh and putting sunscreen on the darkened areas when in the sun, eventually the rest of my face evens out. This part is important, because any darkened area will only get darker in the sun no matter what your putting on it at home

Living Simply and Enjoying Life
#3 of 8 Old 01-28-2010, 08:53 PM