natural hair conditioner? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 11 Old 07-02-2010, 05:27 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
My mother has recently switched to natural shampoo bars (which I've been using for 2 years now). I use a vinegar rinse to condition my hair and it's fine. But she is finding that her hair is getting quite dry, even with the vinegar rinse.

Is there anything she can put in her hair before or after shampooing that would condition it and restore some moisture? She is 74 and has white hair, though it is thick and healthy. She also swims regularly so is battling the chlorine effect, too.

teapot2.GIF Homeschooling, Homesteading Mama to DD ('02) and DS ('04)  ribbonjigsaw.gif blogging.jpg homeschool.gif

#2 of 11 Old 07-03-2010, 11:59 AM

I'm actually surprised that her hair is dry after using the vinegar rinse--I find it to be the MOST conditioning. I wonder if she could just do a conditioning treatment maybe once a week...like with a hot oil, or beer, mayo, eggs...I'm sure there are threads on here with different deep conditioning concoctions
#3 of 11 Old 07-03-2010, 12:11 PM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
is she a curly head? ime, ppl. curly hair get dryer hair then those with straight hair. try olive oil, jojoba oil, glycerin...

Visit the Holiday Helper thread and join in on the giving and fun! Loving and working with the plants. I have a store! or two!
#4 of 11 Old 07-03-2010, 12:20 PM

Coconut milk works wonderfully.
I usually use the canned kind for my hair.

Lovin my sweet babygirl 3-17-10love.gif and expecting another in March! love.gif

#5 of 11 Old 07-04-2010, 05:46 PM - Thread Starter

She is half Asian so her hair is straight and thick. But it is all white and I'm sure that changes the texture somewhat. Still, I find vinegar conditions my hair beautifully so I'm also surprised. She may have damaged ends.

So how do you use coconut milk or the oils? Do you put it in before you wash your hair?