Diva Cup? Can't wear tampons, would a DC work instead? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 07-19-2010, 05:12 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
So, ever since I had my munchkin I can't wear tampons b/c they cause me to feel swollen and are just not comfortable at all. Do you think that a diva cup would work better? I really hate pads (sposies and mama cloth alike - I just hate them!) and want to use something internal since I liked tampons before I got preggo.

Any insight would be appreciated!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-19-2010, 06:38 PM

I'm new to the whole reusable menstrual scene too, but I ordered a LadyCup based on some reviews I read. Apparently there are a lot of drawbacks to the Diva in terms of comfort and ability to keep them clean (I think they have little holes on the top that get plugged). I don't personally know about all the ins and outs (so to speak), but I did find some really good reading material...
try checking out
http://ecomenses.com/ and http://community.livejournal.com/menstrual_cups/

::: Mama to Feingold target: Sebastian(10/05) and Savannah, my allergy princess (b 6/08). Avoiding dairy, corn, soy, oats, sesame, eggs, nuts, seafood, and banana
Old 07-20-2010, 08:07 PM

I've just recently gotten a Diva Cup and have found it more comfortable than tampons ever were.

I've just finished my 3rd cycle with it and have had no problems with the holes getting plugged (the holes help create a bit of suction to keep it in place while it's in) You just fill it up with warm water, put your palm on top, turn it upside down and push a bit to force water out of the holes.

I was kind of sad when I found out that there were other brands that came in colors. I'd kind of like a colored one.

Kristy, wife to Josh proud mama to Katie: since 3/08 and Emma since 8/12.

Old 07-30-2010, 05:56 PM