Sodium Lauryl Sulfate (SLS) in Dr. Bronner's - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 01-12-2011, 08:31 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I am brand new to replacing all products with homemade or good brands. I have been reading many threads here and see a lot of Dr. Bronner's. Looks great! But when i saw the Sal's cleaner from Dr. Bronner's it has SLS.

Thoughts?

i can make home cleaners and deoderant...

working on liquid soap, shampoo, lotion, bodywash, dishsoap and laundry detergent.

#2 of 8 Old 01-12-2011, 09:02 PM

We use their classic liquid soap, which does not contain SLS.  I love it, personally. 

#3 of 8 Old 01-12-2011, 09:27 PM - Thread Starter

i did notice that one...thanks. Better choice. I'm not sure if SLS is really bad or not?

#4 of 8 Old 01-13-2011, 07:08 AM

I try to avoid SLS at all cost! It's in almost every shampoo. I've stopped using shampoos with this ingredient. It is like industrial grade soap/degreaser. Quite drying IMO!

A_Random_Phrase likes this.

Wife to DH(15 years)and Mama to: Jacob(5/02)kid.gifribbonpurple.gif, and Alina(7/07)energy.gifI luxlove.gifbellyhair.gif
#5 of 8 Old 01-13-2011, 07:50 AM

I just use their original soaps. They are extremely versatile and don't contain SLS or other nasty stuff.

S~ Peace loving, natural living, FuNkY vegan mama to Keiran bouncy.gif 23/Dec/06:
"Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter" ~~ MLK
#6 of 8 Old 01-13-2011, 04:40 PM

hi there - Lisa Bronner wrote a very informative post on SLS in her wonderful blog, you can check it out at:

http://lisa.drbronner.com/?p=197

She also writes about other chemicals in personal care products on the blog as well - clik on the "Chemicals" category.I am completely with you in terms of avoiding nasties wherever possible, but there is no doubt many large corporations have corporate profits as their first goal.