Please help me with my acne! I have acne rosacea. - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 19 Old 01-21-2011, 06:41 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Ever since having my baby my acne has really flared up. I never washed my face that often before and just started to use Dove Sensitive non foaming face wash. I like it, but it does nothing for the acne.

One thing I think will work for me to clear up the acne is Normaderm by Vichy, but I don't want to buy it b/c it's from Nestle and I've started to boycott them. Also it will only work for a month or so and then it may dry my skin to much. I used it quite a few years ago and that's what happened.

Anything I can use that isn't expensive and is somewhat natural? Does the oil cleansing method work for acne? I'm not suposed to use tea tree oil b/c it will aggravate the rosacea.
#2 of 19 Old 01-25-2011, 10:00 AM

I have been battleing acne for 30 years now.... and I do use the OCM method, love it! I still break out from time to time, but the oil really helps. Plugs will slide out, or basically "disolve" over night, but it also seems to really be helping with the healing of older breakouts. My skin has changed some over the past few years, but OCM has made a difference.

I can't offer any insight on the rosacea aspect, but never hurts to try.

I use;

60% castor oil

15% jojoba (sp?) oil

20% extra light olive oil (i can't stand the smell of heavier smelling olive oils - but others use sunflower or other like oil)

5% apricot oil

But there are many different variations you can try, I started with 50% castor, 30% olive and 20% jojoba, but it's not an extact science per se.

Best and hope some others chime in more on the rosacea aspect.

#3 of 19 Old 01-25-2011, 07:33 PM - Thread Starter