Need a good recipe for lye-free body/face soap! Help! - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 03-25-2011, 02:33 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi mamas!
I am hoping to make mmy own soap and don't really know where to start. I want to use vegetable based ingredients and fresh herbs or essential oils. Most of the online recipes I have found contain lye and most of the books out there seem to based in lye as well.

Does anyone have any recipes or good resources for lye free soap? Thanks!

hh2.gif Proud Mama to DS1 09/07 ribboncesarean.gif, DD 07/09 hbac.gif, and DS2 06/11 uc.jpg.  Feeling more and more blessed with each day!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-25-2011, 02:38 PM

I've been making my own soap for many years now.  We use lye-based soap because of dd's eczema.  However, you can make your own glycerin-based soap without lye.  I've seen this a lot online and you can probably google it.  I'm sure there are plenty of glycerin soap recipes out there.  Good luck!

Can I ask why you want to make soap without lye?  I'm just curious... or nosy.  winky.gif  If you make your soap correctly, there should be no caustic lye remaining.  The saponification process should convert it.

Old 03-25-2011, 06:32 PM - Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by velochic View Post

I've been making my own soap for many years now.  We use lye-based soap because of dd's eczema.  However, you can make your own glycerin-based soap without lye.  I've seen this a lot online and you can probably google it.  I'm sure there are plenty of glycerin soap recipes out there.  Good luck!

Can I ask why you want to make soap without lye?  I'm just curious... or nosy.  winky.gif  If you make your soap correctly, there should be no caustic lye remaining.  The saponification process should convert it.