Considering Glad Rags and the Diva cup. New to using reusuable menstrual products. Help :) - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 22 Old 04-06-2012, 05:33 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I'm new to using cloth menstrual pads and/or the diva cup. I think my period may be soon returning and I'd really like to refrain from using disposable pads and tampons. The only problem is that I'm at a loss for which reusable products are the best. I would love some suggestions and resources! :) Also, is normal machine washing recommended? And what do you do with the glad rags while you're out and about and need to change them...or at home when it's not time to wash them yet?

Tell me everything. I'm a novice. TIA! :)

#2 of 22 Old 04-06-2012, 11:38 PM

No answers here but in the same boat and looking for answers too smile.gif

treehugger.gifHappy Vegetarian Gal and geek.gif Techie Man-   heartbeat.gifNewly Wed!!!heartbeat.gif  Expecting "Albi" Christmas 2012 diaper.gif

Looking forward to homebirth.jpgbfinfant.giffemalesling.GIF fuzmalesling.gif cd.gif

#3 of 22 Old 04-07-2012, 04:33 AM

Quoted: 7 Post(s)

Most of the time I just use my Diva cup and have no problems with it. I love it in part because it means I don't have to take things with me when I am out and about! I also have some Luna Pads and have been happy with those. You can purchase a little pouch (your choice of fabrics) for carrying extras with you. There is one compartment for clean pads, another for used ones.

There are three in our household who use them. We keep a lidded container in the bathroom with some water and a little soap in it. Everything goes in there and just gets added to the regular wash. It isn't nearly as big of a deal as I thought it would be. We each have our own colour of Luna Pad so everyone has their own stash.

#4 of 22 Old 04-07-2012, 05:32 AM