itchy scalp from henna - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 15 Old 01-06-2006, 11:59 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
i have been using henna for several months, so why is it not nourishing like all of the information i read says? has anyone else experienced itchy scalp from henna? am i correct in thinking apple cider vinegar will help?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 15 Old 01-07-2006, 03:18 AM

Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Hair is dead, therefor does not absorb "nourishment".

What vinegar will probably do is to fade the henna more quickly. According to a henna site a friend found for me (I used to henna my hair), putting some vinegar into the henna mixture will help it to be more deeply absorbed into the hair shaft.

What I've noticed since going the no-poo route (baking soda and honey, rinse, follow with diluted vinegar or lemon juice rinse, rinse again) is that while my scalp does sometimes itch, but I don't have dandruff the way I use to. FWIW.

"What will you do once you know?"
#3 of 15 Old 01-07-2006, 03:21 AM

I should also add, it is possible to be allergic to henna or to something else in the mixture you're using. I remember itching quite a bit after I started adding egg to my henna mix, for conditioning. I think the egg became an irritant. I am not otherwise allergic to them.

#4 of 15 Old 01-08-2006, 05:43 PM

I add honey or glycerin to my mix, usually about a tablespoon and that helps moisturize my hair. Sometimes if you have too much acid in your mix it can make your head itch. If you post your brand of henna and your recipe, maybe we can help you figure out the problem.
#5 of 15 Old 01-10-2006, 12:46 AM - Thread Starter

okay, here's my recipe:

100 grams body art quality henna for hair from catherine cartwright-jones

then i add 2 of those concentrated lemons (hmm... could that be the problem?)

and maybe a smidge of water