Help me change to new skin care products - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 13 Old 01-09-2006, 02:59 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi Mamas!

Help me out here, I'm a newbie to the natural skin care products!

I have been using Mary Kay skin care and cosmetics for about 10 years now. I have been reading the ingredients lately and I have decided to phase out this and try something more natural with less ingredients, colors in there etc.

I was looking at Burts Bees for skin care and Dr Bonners for natural soaps. We use a dial barsoap in the shower since its the only one dh dosen't itch for days after using. Any other suggestions for him?

We are medium skinned- I have an olive complection and dh is darker like myself, but tends to be more pink than olive like me. He would burn in the sun before I ever would (we both sunscreen or stay out of sun) DD is right in between. He is usually more sensitive to soaps, detergents etc.

Opinions what would work for us?

"The true joy of life is the trip. The station is only a dream. It constantly out distances us."
#2 of 13 Old 01-09-2006, 03:45 PM

If your dh does well with Dial, he may do even better with a handmade soap. Dial is a pretty basic soap made with tallow, palm kernal oil and cocoa butter but it also has some preservatives & other additives that you could avoid with a handmade product.

I pretty much make all my own skin care stuff now so I can't really advise on commercial products, but I encourage you to try a couple of simple things like body butters and lotion bars, there are plenty of recipes online to try. The simplest things to make are recipes that don't contain water, and they don't require a preservative either which is nice.
#3 of 13 Old 01-10-2006, 08:01 AM