Natural Skin Care (Alternative to OCM) - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 72 Old 03-07-2006, 04:36 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I have been using a natural skin care “system” (homemade) for many many years. I still get comments on my skin (I’m 46). I’ve been meaning to post this on a separate thread, so here goes. Sorry, it ended up being long. But worth the read if it works for your skin.

This is a very nice alternative to the OCM (oil cleansing method), with many of the good results - blackheads disappear, skin is smooth and soft - but with less time, and without the oiliness or washcloth.

Oat flour is the basic ingredient, and I’ll get into the variations below. But I’m going to talk about oat flour first because it is appropriate for all skin types, especially sensitive or dry skin, or skin that is really broken out. It acts as a very gentle exfoliant.

You wet your face with hot water. Then put some of the oat flour in one palm and use the fingertips of the other hand to dip into the flour and rub it on your face. Pay particular attention to problem areas. Rinse with hot water, and repeat. Then rinse well. After some experience using this (and after adjusting my recipe to my skin type), I am able to skip the repeat part except for when my skin needs it.

I have used straight oat flour on my eyelid area with good results - soft smooth skin, just like the rest of my face. But I would never use anything stronger on the eye area. Well, I won’t ever again. Dang, that hurt. Grit in the eye, ouch.

I keep my powder in a recycled shaker spice bottle (with a screw-on lid over the shaker holes, to keep water out). I keep a larger quantity mixed up and ready to go in a glass jar in the kitchen, and refill the smaller spice jar as needed.

------------------------------------

OK, now how to vary the basic recipe to meet your skin’s needs…