Walmart now carries certified organic baby clothing!!! - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 94 Old 10-20-2006, 11:33 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I am so excited. I actually bought 2 outfits tonight on sale for $7 for I couldn't believe it. The brand name is GEORGE baby organics. They are also carrying alot of organic food now.

100% Certified Organically Grown Cotton
I could scream.: : :
#2 of 94 Old 10-20-2006, 11:34 PM

Yes... but who makes them?

treehugger.gifAutistic pagan mama with five kiddos on the spectrum, learning through living life. autismribbon.gif  computergeek2.gif

#3 of 94 Old 10-20-2006, 11:47 PM - Thread Starter

well..............I would like to know more about it. I am a little new to some things and I can always benefit from someone elses knowledge.
#4 of 94 Old 10-21-2006, 12:13 AM

Walmart is trying to get a wider range of consumers in thier store. We notice the organic baby clothing because that's what we're interested in. they hope that word will spread and thousands of hippy mamas will run out and buy wal-mart organic clothing. Who's making them? People in china. They do chose to work for wal-mart, but they are treated unkindly and get paid near to nothing. You should see the women sweating (litterally, because it is so hot in the factory) to make your baby's organic clothing. You should also look into how the employees are treated. The employees are forced to work overtime, but not allowed to clock in for the extra hours, if they dont do the extra hours then they loose thier benefits or thier job. Don't get so excited over wal-mart, the company is ruining our country. Buy from local business's, it's worth the extra mula. You should check out the movie "Walmart, the high price of low cost"
Liz
#5 of 94 Old 10-21-2006, 12:31 AM - Thread Starter