Simple Green - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 13 Old 05-21-2007, 09:41 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I am wondering whether you all consider this a safe product. I've used this for awhile and I like it. Last time I went to buy it I could only find Simple Green Extreme Clean and that has me a little nervous. What do you think?
#2 of 13 Old 05-21-2007, 11:45 AM

I have not seen a lot of posts here about Simple Green. I have been using it for over 15 years, and I like it. It is the greenest cleaner that my DH will use. (Complains bitterly about vinegar, and I know he would never agree to using it himself. If I want him to participate in the cleaning, I have to compromise.) I still use vinegar & TTO myself. I sometimes reach for the Simple Green if he's around, so he doesn't have to smell (and complain about) the vinegar.

I don't know about the "Extreme" clean - you make your own ratio of cleaner to water, so I'd just use less cleaner if that's all that were available.

DS, 10/07. Allergies: peanut, egg, wheat. We've added dairy back in. And taken it back out again. It causes sandpaper skin with itchy patches and thrashing during sleep. Due w/ #2 late April, 2012.

#3 of 13 Old 05-21-2007, 04:35 PM - Thread Starter

bump
#4 of 13 Old 05-21-2007, 11:31 PM

I don't use it because I can't stand the scent of it. But it says it's biodegradable and non-toxic. I'm pretty sure it uses petroleum based surfactants though if that matters to you.
#5 of 13 Old 05-21-2007, 11:59 PM

Well they talk about it a lot in the diapering forum as a laundry detergent. I wonder as well. I picked some up and find it works better than vinegar for some things, but the smell is just UGH. It says nontoxic, but I'm pregnant and feel like anything that smells is off-limits. I don't really know though.
#6 of 13 Old 05-22-2007, 12:50 AM

It gives me coughing fits when I use it :
#7 of 13 Old 05-22-2007, 10:22 AM