help with coconut oil deoderant! - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 09-26-2007, 07:36 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I've been using EVCO instead of any other deoderant for the past several months. It worked fabulously at first but the last week or so, I seem stinky. Not hugely stinky, just worse than the no-stink I experienced for the first few months. Smelly enough to want to change a shirt halfway through the day, not smelly enough to clear an elevator.

Now, I'm pg, but I was pg when I started using it. So it shouldn't be about a hormonal change, should it? The weather has also been fluctuating - I live in hot/humid VA and we had a nice cool fall-weather week but now we're back to temps in the 90s. Still, I was sweating a lot over the summer and didn't stink.

Is it possible for the antibacterial properties of EVCO to stop working? Why?

I would use a little baking soda to scrub my pits or add to the EVCO, but the reason I'm using CO to start with is because I react horribly to BS on my pits - terrible big and painful zitlike sores. Not fun. I'm not going anywhere near my armpits with BS.

may my heart always be open to little birds who are the secrets of living whatever they sing is better than to know  - e.e. cummings
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-27-2007, 02:42 PM

I'm experiencing the same problems the last month and I'm not pregnant, but I have been starting a new birth control as part of hormone therapy, so that may be it too. I think the weather is completely wonky too.

Do what you're doing, but add an apple cider vinegar spray after the baking soda scrubbing step. Squirt some on your pits and do your thing in the shower and quickly rinse off the vinegar. No need to rinse too well. I keep a bottle of diluted ACV in the shower so I can use it for no-poo too (it's diluted with water by about 1/2) - you can make it stronger if you'd like.