no-poo but now horrible dandruff. - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 11 Old 02-01-2008, 02:08 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
OK...I've been gradually going no-poo. I used bs with decreasing amounts of low silicate shampoo. I then started adding low silicate conditioner to my acv rinse. Slowly I've gotten to the point where I just use a diluted bs wash and a diluted acv rinse.

Only the last few weeks I've had horrible dandruff. I've never had it before.

I've been doing no-poo for a few months now.

What can I do?

It was so bad today that I actually broke down and used dandruff shampoo and conditioner in my acv rinse again.

I also mix a few drops of rosemary eo in my acv rinse normally, and rub jojoba oil on my ends when I'm done.

Also....with the jojoba oil? It says you can use it as a scalp massage to prevent dandruff....but it would make my scalp to oily. Is there something I'm missing?

Me:
#2 of 11 Old 02-02-2008, 02:39 PM - Thread Starter

bump. Anyone?

Me:
#3 of 11 Old 02-03-2008, 04:42 PM - Thread Starter

Still bumping. What can I use to get rid of dandruff. Help please!!!! I look nasty and am about to give no poo up.

Me:
#4 of 11 Old 02-03-2008, 05:28 PM

just a few jumbled thoughts on the subject....

are you sure it's dandruff? it could be that you're not rinsing the BS out of your hair and it's drying and leaving flakes. it could be that it's the build-up from years of using hair product getting removed from your hair.

my hair went through a really nasty phase when i went no 'poo while the build up was being removed and while my hair learned how to balance itself again (oil and pH).

might also be that BS is too drying for your hair. i started with BS, but i only rarely use it anymore - it totally sucks the moisture right out of my hair, and i imagine if i used it a lot it'd probably dry my scalp out too.