Diva cup users.... help!!! - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 47 Old 02-24-2008, 11:24 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I have been using the diva cup (size 2) for one cycle so far.... I have no problem with insertion, or removal.... but leaking is another story. What am I doing wrong? I do the fold, insert, turns easily... feels comfy (now that I have slightly shortened the stem!) and still, leak, leak, leak!!!! Am I the only one who has this problem??? Any suggestions? This has to work for me. Cloth is not an option as I swim and spend time around water. Help!?!?!
#2 of 47 Old 02-24-2008, 11:48 PM

I like to pinch the base to make sure there is suction after insertion.

Are the holes clean? Some people find they have better luck by enlarging the holes, but I have no experience with this.

Could your cervix be outside of the cup? Are you inserting it almost horizontally or vertically?
#3 of 47 Old 02-25-2008, 12:24 AM - Thread Starter

I aim for my lower spine. How would I know if my cervix is lined up with the cup? I would think that since I can turn it with ease then it would indicate that it is open and sealed, no???? Hmmm, I didn't do so well in anatomy I really want this to work as I have tried cloth and i can not handle feeling soaked (semi-heavy flow) and I am a crunchy gal. Could having 4 children vaginally make the cup leak? I am using a size 2 so I can't see that being a problem, right?
#4 of 47 Old 02-25-2008, 01:26 AM

I might be the odd one out, but when my Diva is in right I can't turn it easily at all unless I pinch it to release the suction. I think it sounds like you haven't gotten a good seal yet. I have issues with relaxing those muscles enough for the diva to settle into place and get a good seal. I have to insert it and relax doing something else for a while and then recheck it.
#5 of 47 Old 02-25-2008, 02:06 AM

Quote:
How would I know if my cervix is lined up with the cup?