*Let the Drama Begin!* Life w/ Family During the Holidays - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 17 Old 11-27-2008, 11:27 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Mine began YESTERDAY.... the day BEFORE Turkey Day.
*rolls eyes and wipes a tear*

This is my first year ever hostessing Thanksgiving.

My dad would rather go hunting.

My mom called my 13 YEAR OLD on his cellphone and said she was going to stop by real quick, but not eat anything.

I think I just literally FELT myself outgrow their dysfunctional CRAP.

Anyone wanna WHINE with me?

... and then feel better and more positive than ever?

Bean
#2 of 17 Old 11-27-2008, 02:19 PM

Ah. This sounds a lot like a T-day I had 5 years ago. We had just moved into our house and had gotten engaged. I had asked all my family (and his) if they'd like to do T-day with us.

They said "yes" so I bought a really nice BIG turkey. Sadly, it went to waste. His family and mine blew us off. It's not like DH or I have siblings that come out to visit our families either (he's an only and my one sister lives in another country)—so there really wasn't a good excuse for our parents to pull that crap. It was very hurtful, and I still resent them for it to this very day.

I don't think people who are older (retired or near it) always think about how blowing off their kids on the holidays can be very hurtful. Perhaps they just don't see us as taking as serious a part in them as they did. Perhaps they think since the kids are adults their job as family is done. Or perhaps it makes them feel "old" when someone else does the holiday planning.

But don't let this ruin your day. Enjoy your T-day with those who are nearest to you. Bring your learned traditions together and come up with some new ones. If your parents are stick in the muds, the heck with them! They are the ones who are missing out, but you shouldn't be.

Enjoying the adventure of NFL with my partner-in-crime , DD 03.09 , , &