Wishing I were doing more... - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 12-07-2009, 12:37 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I will start by admitting that I am a very competitive person. In college, I studied with a group of guys that are now either legislative assistants or at Ivy league law schools. I, of course, had children during my undergrad, so I did not go on to grad school or law school (as was my original plan).

Now, I work at a job I don't love, and sometimes I down-right hate it (my boss is a controlling a-hole who sexually harasses the female paralegals, etc...). But I can't quit because we need the money. I just feel so frustrated that I am taking orders from attorneys, one of whom is not very good at his job, and my cohorts are just about to graduate. I feel like I am wasting my potential.

I really hate to whine about this because I know that I need to be here right now. Dh is starting a business that is actually going well and he deserves to continue to be successful. After all, I got to be successful in school while he worked jobs he hated for 5 years. And, yes, I am young. I know there is more time and I will likely be able to go back and do my thing.

Sunday nights are so hard for me. I just sit and think about how I would rather be doing anything other than going to work in the morning. Help me sort this out. Really, I should just stopping complaining and enjoy my decent paycheck and steady job, right?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 8 Old 12-07-2009, 01:11 AM

it's tough. i feel pretty similar to you, like i have so much potential and just feeling kind of stuck right now.

would you be able to go back to school?

Midwifery student , Mama to my 4 amazing kids. treehugger.gif

#3 of 8 Old 12-07-2009, 04:30 AM

s

No advice, but I'm in the same boat. And it's leaking.