motivation problems and how to know when to chuck something in... - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 11 Old 07-12-2011, 07:13 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I've been feeling a deep reluctance to do much of anything for a while now - since the beginning of this year in fact. It doesn't seem to be depression because I feel happy most of the time, low moods don't last long and I am excited by and engaged by being with friends, listening to music, camping, being in nature and reading or watching thought-provoking things - I'm just not inspired to do anything goal orientated whatsoever...to do anything that I actually *have* to do... I've been doing a diploma in Breastfeeding Counselling for over 2 years and when I'm at the tutorials or at my related voluntary job, ie with other people I'm inspired and I love it - inbetween, I hate the whole thing and wish daily I could pack it in. I struggle to get in nearly as much creative writing (my passion) as I'd like to, either because i fear it or because I know i should be doing study work and feel guilty allowing myself to do 'pleasurable' stuff. I hardly ever do yoga anymore since stopping teaching yoga, again, I just don't seem to have the motivation to do it. It's got more pronounced since I went on a week long camping trip recently - since i got back I just really couldn't be bothered with anything!