How do you lessen the fear of driving? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 09-23-2012, 10:14 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I am 23 going on 24 years old this Thursday...and I still have the fear of driving. I have been practicing a little at a time since I was 20 years old. I shake, my breathing gets rapid, heart beats faster... So far, I have been driving in the rural areas during the daytime and practice on the highways at nighttime. Getting on the highway, driving in the parking lots, and turning the car freak me out the most. I have terrible depth perception. I haven't gotten my driver's license yet...but I am getting tired of relying on everyone to drive me somewhere. It's my only motivation really. 

Sometimes, I wish I lived back in the era when it was just a horse and buggy. Or just a horse. I love riding horses. stillheart.gif

SAHM, college student, AND expecting #2 EDD March 20 2014! belly.gif(25)  * DS (10/2010)jog.gif *

Loving life with DBF (24) flowersforyou.gif since 10/2009 heartbeat.gif

Rainbow.gif *intactlact.gif* selectivevax.gifdelayedvax.gif* goorganic.jpg * familybed1.gif *cd.gif

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 8 Old 09-23-2012, 10:20 PM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)

The thing that caused me to get more comfortable with driving was when I literally had no other choice.  I moved about an hour away from my family and a half hour away from my school.  Public transportation was not available in that area--so if I wanted to get to school or visit my family then I had to drive.  The fear diminishes with time.  Good luck!

#3 of 8 Old 09-24-2012, 10:24 AM

Quoted: 2 Post(s)