How to become a yoga instructor - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 01-02-2002, 04:10 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I have been thinking that I might really enjoy teaching yoga and best of all I could do it very part time. Is there any special certification that you need, or do you just go apply at a studio? Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-04-2002, 01:46 PM

I'm not a yoga instructor but I have been doing yoga for quite awhile- at home with tapes and in a studio with an instructor. I, too, have been interested in teaching to special populations (I'm a special ed teacher and think some of our special needs kids could benefit from yoga) through our local Parks & Rec dept. I asked one of my instructors a while back how to go about getting started. She said that you do need teacher training and certification. There are yoga institutes all over the world and you pay a pretty penny to attend one to be certified, or you can ask at one of your local studios where to be trained and certified. There is a studio in my city that does training and certification. Good luck to you! Now that I've had my babe it will probably be awhile before I persue it.
Old 01-08-2002, 03:56 AM

Where are you located?
The nov/dec issue of Yoga Journal had a whole bunch of info on studios and teacher trainings, and the mag is a great resource on yoga anyways (or try the web site www.yogajournal.com ) Unless you are already set on a certain style of yoga - do your homework well, there are plenty of trainings around, but i feel that it's essential to get a sound knowledge on anatomy & physiology as well as the asana-practice - to stand above the crowd, so to speak.
Good luck on your search on the path of yoga - and here's my personal reminder - i feel a teacher is never really ready. It's your own practice and example that counts - make it a good one.
Old 01-16-2002, 12:43 AM