Are you a professional mom who opted out? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 01-08-2008, 07:36 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
This is probably a thread that applies mostly to US women, because I know the family policies in other countries are different than here.

For those who don't know what I mean...I mean college educated, working in a professional field (either in business, at a university, in a scientific field, etc) and decided to take some time to be home with your children either short term or permanently.

If you fall into this category, can you help me out?

I was a professional who opted out. I worked for 12 years in the field of biology. My last job title was Lab Supervisor. Granted, it was a very small lab (3 people), but nonetheless, I was really proud of working at a pretty prestigious university hospital lab. I felt I was really making a contribution to others (particularly because it was medical genetics testing for rare genetic diseases). The work my lab did gave families answers they didn't have before.

After a series of fortunate events, it became no longer necessary for me to "have" to work. I have bills under control, and even decent savings in my own name only (so theoretically not "dependent" on my dh). Add to that, I was having some issues with work that weren't being resolved to my satisfaction and I was gone 11 hours a day.

I've been an at home mom for almost 4 years, and I know without question that it is the right choice for my children (particularly when we have weeks where someone is always sick, like the last month where my dd3 has had a stomach virus, conjunctivitis, and now some sort of viral infection with a 103 degree fever for the last 48 hours. I imagine I'd be taking off lots of time to be with her if I was working and in trouble over that).