autumnal pagan camp: tapping - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 37 Old 10-21-2009, 10:28 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
**disclaimer: there are many versions of this technique, there are many opinions on the right way to do it, i'm not even going to attempt to discuss them all or encompas them all... this is an informal gathering for those of us who do some form of tapping and those who want to learn more.

i'm starting it off simply, so that it can at least be, as some have suggested, a place to point those who ask "so, what IS tapping?"

camp is always open to non pagans who are respectful of this being a pagan camp, and in this case, anyone with opposing or alternate views or experiences of some form of tapping is of course welcome, provided they be respectful and supportive and understanding that this is not a formal exercise and i am not a professional.

thank you, and welcome!**

"what IS tapping?"
tapping is a form of energy therapy or energy medicine. the concept is that things in life (traumas, emotional events, etc) cause energy blockages in our bodies, and these blockages cause problems (emotional, physical). our bodies, according to energy medicine, have energy meridians, and like acupuncture or acupressure, touching or influencing points on those meridians can effect change. in the case of tapping, you "tap" on the meridian (or energy) points on the body to release a blockage or to get the energy to flow freely, thus healing yourself.

tapping, unlike acupuncture, adds a psychological element, in the focus on emotions or feelings. some people find that a few tapping sessions frees them of "issues" they had worked on for years with a therapist without results. it often uncovers hidden issues as well.