My story and why I want to go back to church LONG - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 03-31-2010, 11:08 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I don't know where to start...a bit about myself...I went to Catholic school for 1st-8th grade. My mother has always said that if the public schools were better I would have went to PS instead, and she really doesn't feel that it did me any good . After my sister and I graduated, she started only going to church occasionally, and now I don't even think she goes apparently because of her work schedule and because our church now only offers Spanish mass So what I'm saying, is that while I was raised in a CS, I was not so much raised in a Catholic house.

I became pregnant with my 1st dd at 18. I married her father (no faith, no belief in Jesus) and our daughter was baptized because my mother arranged for it. I hate to say that life (and two more babies, one high-needs) got in the way and I found myself distanced from the church. We had arrangements for our second to be baptized, but at the time felt we couldn't handle the stress of actually taking her to church. He was actually very anti-church, but is the type of personality that lets the woman make the decisions (and still is, with his second wife). So without his support, I let life take over and I've been inside a church only a handful of times since my sister's 8th grade graduation. She's 23 now .