Yoga as a Spiritual Practice - Thread for Yoginiis of all faiths and those interested :) - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 07-13-2010, 10:41 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I wanted to start a thread and see if there is any interest in talking amongst each other about yoga as a spiritual practice. I posted a thread in Fitness for yoga mamas, and those tend to focus on the physical practice. For me, yoga is becoming more of a spiritual practice with physical benefits. What a plus, huh?

The discussion here is for those of all faiths who practice yoga as a means to not only be physical, but as a way to grow and express your spirituality. Please be mindful as you post and respond.

Let's start with introductions and we'll move on from there if there is interest.

What sort of yoga do you do and for how long have you done it?
I have been doing yoga for 10 years off and on. Since June of 2009, I have had a regular yoga practice as my primary form of exercise. I started that with Kundalini yoga, but have found that I would rather practice that with a teacher and none are available. But, I do have a love for it. I switched to Hatha primarily with Vinyasa styles as what is drawing me currently. A yoga studio opened close by, and I go there when I can, but I practice mostly at home. I use Baron Baptiste, Sean Corn, and Shiva Rea... a little Rodney Yee. I practice some on my own as well. Recently I was certified as a prental, postnatal, and labor yoga instructor. That is exciting.

How did yoga become a spiritual practice for you?