Question for Muslim Moms - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 08-05-2010, 05:45 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hello! I hope it's okay to post this here. I am a high school teacher. There is a larger-than-average population of Muslim students at the school (many families with Turkish, Saudi Arabian, and Egyptian backgrounds). I teach English. We will be doing a genre-specific study of world lit, and I would love to include some fiction pieces that will validate my Muslim students' backgrounds (as I have already selected pieces that reflect other students' cultural heritage). The Kite Runner is on my suggested reading list as a supplemental text, but that's about as close as anything comes. I have a lot of freedom to choose my own sources. I like Layla and Majnun for Persian poetry, but otherwise I'm not sure. I'd love a modern short story, and something that could be likened to fables -- I know Arabian Nights would work, but they use that as supplemental reading in another grade so I can't use it.

If you have any ideas or maybe some suggestions about things to look for, I would love to hear them!

thanks so much--

Joy, mama to Aquaboy (10), Goldilocks (8), Squidge (4)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 8 Old 08-05-2010, 10:34 PM

Of course, there's Rumi and Hafiz for poetry as well.

For authors, what about Nobel prize winner Naguib Mahfouz? (Egyptian... "Cairo Trilogy.")

If you do Dante's "Divine Comedy" you can mention about how his views of hell came from Muslim theology.

Khalil Gibran is always popular.

I read a good book about a Jewish woman growing up in Cairo who left in the 1950s. It was by Colette Rossant and called "Memories of a Lost Egypt."

For Turkish authors, Yasar Kemal comes to mind.

There's a Palestinian author named Ghassan Kanafani who wrote "Men in the Sun"