Blessings At The End Of A Letter - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 11 Old 03-11-2011, 02:07 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I work for a major corporation that has a Chaplain. In his recent emails to me, he will start the letter with Dear.... and end it with Blessings

Not sure what to make of the letter? I think he is using his title as Chaplain, on some of these and others he will just sign his name.?

Just wanted to know what it means to sign a letter with Blessings?
#2 of 11 Old 03-11-2011, 04:17 AM

I would take it like a generic religious blessing, like God Bless, or Peace Be With You.  I sign all of my writings in the same way. 

Heathyr hang.gifBlessed Catholic Wife to DHwheelchair.gif Devoted Mama to DS1 biglaugh.gif(3/17/08) and DS2blowkiss.gif (8/5/2010)familybed1.gifcd.giflactivist.gifribboncesarean.gifx2 
#3 of 11 Old 03-11-2011, 02:26 PM

Every Pastor/Rabbi/Priest I have ever communicated with (I'm a church musician, so I work with a lot of clergy) sign their letters with a blessing of some sort. It's what they do.

Wife to amazing dh, mama to dd 12/08
#4 of 11 Old 03-13-2011, 06:41 AM - Thread Starter

Even if the email is sent to my personal email address? I can understand when he is writing an email from the office, he needs to sign it that way. But when we are communicating after hours, is the right?

#5 of 11 Old 03-13-2011, 07:02 AM

But for him, Chaplain is what he IS, not what he does for x hours a day.  Its very normal.  I know many people that are not offficiants that sign all their communications with Blessed Be or some such. 

#6 of 11 Old 03-13-2011, 09:59 AM

For most clergy and other religious, there is no "off switch".  They are a chaplain, priest, pastor or whatever 24/7, in everything that they do, personal or not.