How do I introduce spirituality to my child without it being religious? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 13 Old 08-19-2012, 07:20 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

My DS is almost 2 and a half. I am kind of feeling like I need to start introducing some kind of spiritual ideas to him. The problem is, I'm not really following any specific type of religion. My background is very mixed...both of my parents were raised catholic, but neither one of them identified with catholicism as adults. My dad was a jehovah's witness at one point, and then he moved on to follow more buddhist type beliefs, but he doesn't really subscribe to any one system. My mom was raised very catholic, and she loved the mass and the ritual aspect of it, so we were raised following most catholic holidays and even some traditions from her slovak mother (blessing the food at easter, etc.). While I enjoyed all of this as a child, and was even confirmed as a catholic since I went to catholic elementary school, I don't consider myself catholic. My mom really considered herself a pagan, and despite holding onto some catholic traditions, was heavily into things like astrology, tarot readings, and many other facets of what she felt was spiritual. I was exposed to many things, and I can honestly say there were a lot of interesting things to learn from her!

My husband was raised protestant, but never went to church, was never baptized, and really has no affiliation with any type of religion. Which leaves me...I definitely believe there is a higher power, and that we should follow the golden rule and all that stuff. We celebrate holidays because they are traditional and it brings the family together, but we don't attend church or anything.