Patanjali's yama~ Ahimsa - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 7 Old 09-03-2002, 01:00 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I'm studying these and was wondering how ahimsa~do not harm anyone can be applied to everyday living? It seems it is so hard to do. Each decision has the potential to harm someone.

Any good questions to ask oneself as they go about their day? I know that ahimsa was supposed to be even more important than satya~not lying. Does anyone have any insite for this?

And while were on the topic, is there a good way to learn mantras? I've read that the pronunciantions are very important, and I have a hard time knowing I am saying anything right. I know no Hindus IRL and I have no Temple in my city.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 7 Old 09-03-2002, 02:10 AM

I have a passage that may be of some help:

In the presence of him who has perfected harmlessness, all enmity ceases.

"If emnity and hatred are to be found by the perceiver, it is because in him the seeds of enmity and hatred are present. When they are absent, naught but unity and harmony exists. This is the first stage of universal love, the practical endeavour on the part of the aspirant to be at one with all beings. He begins with himself and sees to it that the seeds of harmfulness in his own nature are eradicated. He deals, therefore, with the cause which produces enimity towards him and others. The natural result is that he is at peace and others are at peace with him. *In his presence even wild beasts are rendered impotent and this by the condition of the mind-state of the aspirant or yogin.*"
-p.195, The Light of the Soul, Yoga Sutras of Patanjali

My personal interpretation is that by starting inside ourselves and cultivating unconditional love, our external world creates a reality in which we won't need to be concerned about hurting others.