new here too - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 4 Old 09-19-2002, 05:15 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
i am new to this thread too! um.....the biggest thing i noticed is the comparison of Christian and Pagan holidays....Thanksgiving is not a Christian holiday! it's not a religious holiday at all! so there shouldn't be any conflict over Pagan vs. Christian with this one. unfortunately i don't have much family-of-origin, so i do a lot of celebrating "just us"....i love all holidays! so i do the thanksgiving in november, but also mabon. i don't have a problem having many opportunities for showing gratitude!
wow, Keisha, a Black Jewish Pagan. a woman of many talents!!! that's cool! boy i bet you ARE busy! tell some more about Kwannzaa. from what i do know it sounds like a very cool holiday.
i live in a very non-cosmopolitan area, so no coven *sniff* but our local UU is allowing the few Pagans in the congregation to do a Mabon ritual this saturday night. i am so excited! beforehand the babysitter is coming for dinner and we will have chili and cornbread too. and then there is a drumming on sunday!
i'm not totally Veg yet so probably this thanksgiving will have the turkey and etc. unless i get fed-up-with-meat by then (and i may well). if so, i will figure out something else! lots of winter squash at any rate. and grains. i don't know yet!
pamela
single mom to rio, 1/01

Me treehugger.gif Handfasted wife to M  geek.gif as of 3/7/10 , and Mama to R  reading.gif (1/31/01) luxlove.gif

#2 of 4 Old 09-21-2002, 12:54 AM

um...the christians weren't the only ones giving thanks...so were the native americans...

Welcome to the boards, mercyn! Please hop over to TAO and tell us the history of your username! (Funky usernames, take 4...)
#3 of 4 Old 09-21-2002, 02:18 AM

Welcome to the board mercyn.