any other Hindus out there? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 13 Old 12-21-2001, 03:38 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Just curious . . .

Darshani

7yo: "Mom,I know which man is on a quarter and which on is on a nickel. They both have ponytails, but one man has a collar and the other man is naked. The naked man was our first president."

#2 of 13 Old 12-21-2001, 11:13 AM

hi darshani, i'm not hindu per se, but i majored in world relgions in at uc berkeley, studying mostly religions from india, and then i got intensely into yoga and lived in a little yoga commune for a year here in ca doing asana practice, karma yoga, etc, and then i read the teachings of ramana maharshi and poonjaji, and they really touched my heart, and i was attending satsangs with other folks that are into them (basically, advaita vedanta, nondualism, kinda zenish, very sweet and beautiful), and THEN I gave birth to my little goddess Serenity and became a full time devotee!!!
#3 of 13 Old 12-23-2001, 02:39 AM - Thread Starter

Nice to meet you! What a beautiful name for your daughter! If we have a son next time we are considering Santosh for a name. As you probably know that has a similar meaning.

Aum shanti,
Darshani

7yo: "Mom,I know which man is on a quarter and which on is on a nickel. They both have ponytails, but one man has a collar and the other man is naked. The naked man was our first president."

#4 of 13 Old 12-28-2001, 12:19 AM

We are Vaisnavas. =>:-)
I am from here- US and my DH is from India.
We have 1 ds named Vrndavan das. I'm currently pg due in May.
Hari Om
#5 of 13 Old 12-28-2001, 02:10 AM - Thread Starter

Namaste and congrats on your expanding family (and belly!). :-)

#6 of 13 Old 12-28-2001, 02:12 AM