Animals, Vegetarianism and Christianity - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 4 Old 01-19-2003, 06:50 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi all-
I am a devout Christian. I am also an animal advocate and vegetarian.

I am fairly new to the church. And I am quite stunned at the lack of empathy people in my church have for animals. THere are potlucks with lots of animals, Turkey give a ways for T-giving, etc. Lots of women in the church wear fur.

I just finished reading Dominion, a new book about mercy towards animals that was VERY well reviewed in the NYTimes Book Review. It is writen by a Christian, a former Bush speechwriter and conservative, and it discusses the Christian's moral obligation to animals in circuses, factory farms, fur farms, etc. I highly highly recommend it.

Don't animals deserve our compassion and mercy? And isn't factory farming so horrific that we cannot avert our eyes, plead ignorance, and continue to eat our ham sandwiches? The sufferng that these animals endure is appalling. I have seen it. They are sick, covered in sores, their babes taken away from them at birth, crammed into cages, fed garbage, and never see the light of day. All in the name of efficiency.

I wondered if anyone else has noticed this rift of compassion towards animals in their church? I am going to approach my Reverend about the possibility of giving a talk at church.
#2 of 4 Old 01-19-2003, 09:37 PM

Dear MamaKoala,
Hi. I'm glad you posted about this as I am interested in the same subject. I am a Christian and have been a vegetarian for about 10 years. Partly to lower my environmental impact, but also because I too was horrified to discover what "hog factories" and such were like. I am no theologian but these are my musings: