Spell work, Prayers, Intercession, etc., - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 01-20-2003, 12:52 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hello ladies,

I was wondering what kind of spell work you do. I'm really new to this and I'm very interested in how this works for other people!

I was raised in a church were "Intercessory Prayer" was very important. To me, it never seemed very different than magic, or spells. We would do certain symbolic things to achieve certain outcomes. (Such as blessing a cloth with holy oils and water and say blessings of healing of it, and take it to a sick person for healing. Or command spirits to come out of a person by placing hands in certain places, saying certain words, reading scriptures, using oils, and other purified objects.)
I have seen amazing outcomes from such things!

There seems to be certain "rules" (for lack of a better word,) for how this worked. I was wondering if the same is true with pagans. Other than asking different Deities, what rules apply?
I know that it will be different for different people, but I'm sure there is much that is the same. Like, elements for example, or certain herbs for certain things? Or specific words that you use?

Alright, I've rambled on long enough, I hope my questions make sense!

Namaste,
-ana
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-20-2003, 01:57 AM

Spellcrafting is a huge and diverse subject. Most pagans I know say intent is the most important thing. And I agree with that.