Strange question - rodent in house. How would you respond? (Yes this is spiritual.) - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 40 Old 12-27-2006, 09:40 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I realize this is kind of an odd question but it's weighing on my mind and I'm hoping for some imput.

I'm having a discussion with a friend about how to respond to this situation. I want to move the animal out of my house without harming it (my background is raised Catholic, now UU, practice/teach yoga). She says that is absolutely wrong and that I must destroy it because it invaded my house (she is raised Catholic but converted to Judaism as an adult).

She says that if I don't respond to this invader appropriately (by killing it) I will continue to have my home invaded by other more destructive energies.

I can kind of see her perspective -- and frankly it scares me a little to think she might be right -- but it's really causing me to struggle with my beliefs regarding my place in the web of all life and non-harming etc.

Not sure this makes any sense. I can clarify anything if needed. Appreciate any and all responses. Thanks!

~Erin
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 40 Old 12-27-2006, 10:11 AM

Funny you should mention that. I was just looking up animal "totems" and what they symbolize. If you look up "mouse totem" there are a number of links such as this:
http://www.linsdomain.com/totems/pages/mouse.htm

I'm not sure but this may be a part of some Native American spirituality.

As for the more practical day to day aspect of mice, I have found that being gentle with mice only leads them to reproduce quickly and then you have lots of mice. If you find a gentler way that would be wonderful but was not my experience.

Take the time to heal from your marriage before you move on with someone else. Make a list of all the qualities you would like in a new partner and then work on growing that way yourself. ~mandib50