Bollywood playlist? - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 6 Old 10-11-2010, 09:03 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
We just went to see a live Bollywood-style musical at the theater and loved it! We're total newbies at this. Does anyone have any favourite Bollywood music they can suggest?
#2 of 6 Old 10-11-2010, 09:45 PM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
I like the soundtracks from Monsoon Wedding although I don't know if that's technically a Bollywood film.

Normal is just a setting on your dryer.
#3 of 6 Old 10-13-2010, 01:26 PM

Yay, my very favorite topic! I'm a Bollywood nut. Here are some suggestions, along with which film the song is from (you can find just about EVERYTHING on Youtube, by the way, to see what you like).

Classic:

Chalte Chalte Yunhi Koi Mil Gayah, Pakeezah
In Ankhon ki Masti ke, Umrao Jaan
Salaam e Ishq, Mukaddar ka Sikander -- all the songs from this film are excellent
Ek Ladki ko Dekho, 1942: a Love Story
Chura Liya Hai Tumne, Yaadon ki Baraat
Mera Naam Chin Chin Chu, Howraah Bridge
O Haseena Zulfan Wali, Teesri Manzil (definitely watch the visual for this, too -- it's insane!)
Chingari Koi Badke, Amar Prem

Contemporary:

Dola Re, Devdas
Choli Ke Peche, Khalnayak
Suraj Hua Madhan, Kabhi Khushi Khabhi Gham
Chunariya, Na Tum Jaano Na Hum
No. 1 Punjabi, Chori Chori
Dhoom Tana, Om Shanti Om
Mahi Ve, Kal Ho Na Ho
Holi Kheli, Baghban
Badi Mushkil, Lajja

Just plain silly/poppy/fun:

Chandni Chowk to China, title song
It's the Time to Disco, Kal Ho Na Ho
Aashiqui Mein Teri, 36 China Town
Dard-e-Disco, Om Shanti Om
Pyaar Zindagi Hai, Mukadder ka Sikander
Lazy Lamhe, Thoda Pyar Thoda Magic
Hey Ganpat, Shootout at Lokhandwala