I'm just figuring out how to cope with an SPD child. - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 14 Old 02-23-2009, 12:00 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hello all~

I am new to this sub-forum, though not to MDC. A few months ago, my DH and I finally got some answers about our son when he was diagnosed with Sensory Processing Disorder. He is sensory seeking, has auditory sensitivities, motor planning problems, has an extraordinarily hard time with transitions, separation, and becomes over stimulated very quickly. He is in OT once a week, which has been a big step in the right direction. He is very difficult to be around sometimes and he is a real handful. I also have a 13 month old daughter.

As many of you probably know, getting the proper diagnosis and care providers has been a blessing. We love our doctor and OT. It took us a long time to come to terms with the fact that we needed some help with him after years of thinking his "issues" (for lack of a better word) would resolve themselves. I am so grateful to our OT for the amazing help she gives us.

I am at a bit of a loss though, on how to handle this with other people. It is so hard to explain his actions and needs to people who don't even know what SPD is. I get the impression that some people think it's a bunch of hooey that I have invented to make excuses for my son. It's hard to explain that he has special needs when he looks (and sometimes acts) like a very "normal" boy. We already have bent our lives around his needs and sometimes it feels like our lives will never be easy.