Shaking head while talking? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 07-30-2009, 10:51 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
hi. lately my dd has been kind of shaking her head from side to side when she talks. it's looks like she's saying "no" (unintentionally) with her head while saying whatever it is she has to say. it doesn't happen 100% of the time, but pretty frequently within the last week. the only thing we've changed is adding melatonin - which, btw, really has helped her get to sleep : : :. sweet baby jesus. it's been great! she doesn't sleep for any longer, but still, it's been a great relief. anyway, do/have any of your kids do/done this?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-31-2009, 05:11 PM

I'd be thinking something neurological like a tic perhaps honestly.
Tics can come and go though...it's not a disorder unless it persists. I don't think it sounds like seizure activity but I'm no expert in that.
My son does weird stimmy stuff that is tic like at times (frequent throat clearly, vocal stims, etc. mostly).

Rachelle, mommy to 8 year old boys! 

My Blog-free homeschooling finds and my lesson plans and link to the new User Agreement

Old 07-31-2009, 10:30 PM

nayma - how old is she? does she have any other issues or concerns? Most of the time head shaking is benign but other times it can be an indication of a larger issue. One of my DS's first signs that something was wrong was heading shaking but most people told me not to worry about it. It did turn out that something else was seriously wrong. He had a vascular anomaly in part of his brain, diagnosed at 5.5 months. I don't want to scare you by any means but personally I wouldn't ignore head shaking. I say that from personal experience. Sometimes it can be a weird tic and other times seizures, and other times it is simply a baby or child experimenting, but it sounds like you think it is not voluntary. I would contact my doctor and possible a pediatric neurologist.