Does your SPD child still have loose joints?? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 13 Old 04-27-2010, 07:21 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
My 6yo has SPD.

When she was originally diagnosed at 2yrs old, they told us that her joints ere loose because of SPD and something to due with a lack of brain messaging the body's joints to tighten in development. HOWEVER, they told us it would improve on it's own by the time she was 5. We have done joint compressions for 4yrs now. Finger joints to toe joints. No improvement.

She is 6 years and two months and is still like a floppy piece of spagetti. Her Pre-K teacher calls her "limber." She can move her legs and hips in bizarre ways typical people cannot. If I shake her arm, it feels like her wrists aren't attached to the arm. I think there is also a lack of muscle, but I'm not a professional...she may just be thin. When she writes or colors for short periods, she is fine. If it is a bigger coloring or writing project, she says her hands are tired and she "can't" do it anymore. She also complains that her legs are tired if we walk medium to long distances.

Am I off here....or is this abnormal? They told me it would have resolved itself by now, but it hasn't. I made a pediatrician appointment for early June because I'd like to have the report to take to our IEP meeting. I hope I am right in going to him for this....I hope I'm not making a bigger deal of it than it is....but I don't want her to miss out on activities and play with peers/family/etc. because of weakness, ya know?

Becca ~Mama to 3 (DD - 1/3/02) (DD - 2/16/04) (DS - 8/11/05)
#2 of 13 Old 04-27-2010, 07:31 PM