5 year old with Anxiety Disorder/Obsessive Compulsive Disorder - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 01-30-2012, 12:03 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

I'm new to these forums, though not new to Mothering (I'm a reader and often read the forums, but this is my first time posting), so first let me say hi.

I have two daughters, a five year old and a 16 month old.  My five year old has always been prone to nervousness/worry and ritualistic behavior (i.e. liking things to be a certain way ALL the time, or simply liking to repeat a way of playing over and over ad nauseum).  Lately, however, her obsessions and rituals or compulsions have become more extreme- to the point where they dominate our lives and create extreme anxiety if we try to intervene/change them in any way.  I've already spoken with her pediatrician and have been referred to a behavioral psychologist with whom we have an upcoming appt. but I just wondered if there were any other Moms/Dads out there dealing with Anxiety/OCD in young children.  If so I would really appreciate hearing about your experience.  I'm just feeling really lost and alone at the moment.  TIA.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-30-2012, 12:08 PM - Thread Starter

Sorry for the repeat of this post-- there was some sort of glitch and when I posted this and I kept getting a message that said it was "unable to post, please try again".  Clearly it was able to post.  Could a mod delete the other five threads of the same name, please?

Old 01-31-2012, 07:29 AM

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)

Done!  :)

Old 01-31-2012, 10:51 AM - Thread Starter

Thank you!

Old 02-01-2012, 07:03 PM