SPD--vestibular and other sensory seeking behavior - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 7 Old 05-17-2012, 08:07 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)

Hi there,

I'm totally new to all this, so bear with me.

My DS is 4 years old. He had not been diagnosed with anything to this point except for a range of language issues. In February, a speech pathologist confirmed he has a moderate stutter (both in intensity and frequency) as well as a lisp, a range of sound substitutions, etc. We started a program with her, but after two months, she gave us some home materials to use and said she didn't need to see us again until June, but in the meantime, his stutter has not improved, so we're looking for another speech pathologist, hopefully one not an hour's drive away, and one more affordable for us.

In the last 6-8 weeks, he also started doing some odd things. We noticed he was climbing on the furniture more, jumping off, throwing himself off. Boys will be boys, right? He started leaving the table at mealtimes and needing to climb on the furniture. Then the upside down thing started. He began watching TV while lying on the sofa upside down...so head where one would sit, feet up the backrest part. He watches TV like this all the time now. In an average day, he spends about 90 minutes upside down.

I found the SPD info online and the vestibular hyposensitivity sounds like him. He has about five on the checklist. My husband is harder to convince and thinks he's just a boy and that's what they do.

I don't know. It just seems odd. He's also started sucking on his hands and he was never a thumb sucker or anything similar as a toddler.