Any other ADHD families out there? - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 16 Old 07-23-2012, 04:53 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hello, I'm new to the SNP forum, but have been on mothering for awhile, so I thought I'd introduce myself.  My husband and I both have ADHD, and DS1 was just diagnosed with ADHD, SPD and general anxiety disorder.  We suspect our DS2 is also ADHD, but he just turned 2. 

Are there any other families out there where everyone has ADHD?  DH and I have a really great relationship, but we do frequently make impulsive decisions together, forget to pay bills, etc.  Also, we all have a really hard time making and keeping friends.  DH is currently on adderall, which helps him a lot, and we're planning on treating DS1 through diet and environment before we seek out meds.  I feel like I could really use the help meds would offer, but I'm still nursing DS2 and I have no insurance.

I don't know where I'm going with all of this...having a hard time gathering my thoughts.  Just thought I see what other people's experiences are.  Most days I feel pretty overwhelmed and lonely with my kids, and my own issues.  Play dates usually end in meltdowns or me putting my foot in my mouth.

Let's share our ADHD family experiences here!

Enjoying life with DH since 05/04 and our two boys Oliver 02/07 and Theodore 07/10 

#2 of 16 Old 07-24-2012, 04:53 AM

Hi!  I have ADHD, my husband has ADHD as does our son (7).  DH takes adderal, DS and I both take vyvanse.  

Walking to raise money for Apraxia - feel free to join me if you are in the area or donate http://www.apraxia-kids.org/southjerseywalk/juliefoxx
#3 of 16 Old 07-24-2012, 06:01 AM