does a learning disability ever just "get better" - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 10 Old 09-17-2012, 06:27 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

just curious.  Our son has a pretty huge ld with reading comprehension that affects a lot of his learning.  I am just wondering if sometimes it just magically disappears.

#2 of 10 Old 09-17-2012, 08:09 PM

Well, I can only speak for myself personally - but I couldn't really read until 4th grade with moderate dyslexia.  Even after that I struggled for many years.

Around 10th grade something clicked and I figured out how to read really fast and up my comprehension.  It just happened, I have no idea why, no one was helping me, I wasn't in therapy.  Now I have a PhD.  I still have the same issues and have to read in the way that works for me (digital will never work for me sadly) so it didn't just go away, but I definitely figured out how to effectively compensate.  Hope that helps!

#3 of 10 Old 09-17-2012, 09:38 PM

Quoted: 67 Post(s)

The things I know are just anecdotal. Some LDs do seem to improve with time, maturity, and experience. I don't think things just magically disappear, but rather improve so they are just a weakness and not much of a "disability."

But I also know adults who never quite got their lives off the ground because an LD or weakness was never really figured out. I wouldn't bank on things just improving.

I think that the more widespread a problem is, the less likely that it will improve on it own. Has your child had a full neuro psychological evaluation?

but everything has pros and cons  shrug.gif

#4 of 10 Old 09-18-2012, 06:11 AM