Tell me your experience re: learning the diagnosis - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 04-03-2013, 09:56 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Hello Everyone - full disclosure - I my self do not have a special needs child per se (anxiety/sensory issues etc) I am a special ed teacher by training, work with families and teachers of those with autism and am planning a training for early child care providers on how to help identify kids early and get parents to follow through with an evaluation.

I would like your stories, good and bad - about learning your child's diagnosis -

I imagine here on this forum with all you informed mamas, many of you noticed long before a child care provider - but I would be particularly interested in anyone who was told by someone else that an evaluation may be called for?  How did it feel to hear the news? Did people say things that were particularly hurtful or helpful? What suggestion might you have on how to best approach the subject so it can be truly "heard"?

And even if you were the one to first suspect an issue, and you want to share your thoughts and feelings I'd be glad to hear them.

If you want to private message me that is fine too...

Thank you!

#2 of 8 Old 04-04-2013, 04:55 AM

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)

Hi bonamarq.