Early Intervention for speech - Mothering Forums
Forum Jump: 

#1 of 8 Old 05-18-2013, 08:22 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

My 22 month old (third child) needs speech therapy and we're getting started with Early Intervention.  I'm just starting to learn about the system, but I understand that there are goals written in to an IFSP, which is the next step in the process for us.  My daughter didn't meet the minimum criteria for services (2 standard deviations below the mean in one area, or 1.5 in two areas) but was qualified for services based on the discretion of the screener because of the discrepancy between her speech and other abilities (she scored in the 4th percentile for expressive language and 98th for receptive language).  

Do I need to be concerned about having the IFSP written so that she'll continue to be eligible for services until her speech catches up to her other skill areas rather than when it reaches some other arbitrary number?  

-Shannon

-Shannon, momma to H reading.gif 8/03, N heartbeat.gif 9/06, & P homebirth.jpg 8/11, missing S brokenheart.gif born at 11 wks 1/09 

#2 of 8 Old 05-19-2013, 04:45 PM

The IFSP focuses mainly on goals.  You will set specific goals that she should be meeting language wise and then work towards those goals.  They automatically age out at age 3 and can then be evaluated to see if they qualify for services in the school system at age 3.

Cassie, mom to Alex(7), Aidan(5), Andrew(4)

#3 of 8 Old 05-19-2013, 05:49 PM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
I agree with pp. don't worry. They usually start the transition process several months before 36m.

I found the school system much easier to qualify for.

mom to 14yr dd and 4yr dd
#4 of 8 Old 05-19-2013, 06:52 PM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)