• 6 Post By heatherweh
  • 1 Post By Linda on the move
  • 1 Post By alpenglow

#1 of 7 Old 02-28-2016, 03:15 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Perspectives on Medication

Hi, I am a teacher in a special needs classroom. I would like to hear different perspectives on medications for children with exceptionalities.

What is your philosophy on pharmacological interventions?

If your child does use them, are they for:

sleep?
behaviour?
attention?
compliance?
Which ones do you use?
Was it a trial and error to be successful?
How long did it take to see results?

I appreciate everyone who takes the time to read this and respond.

Your comments will help me broach a potentially sensitive subject with many of my students' parents.

Thank you
M
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 of 7 Old 03-04-2016, 07:59 PM

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Absolutely do not broach this subject with a parent.

If they bring the subject to you and ask your advice get out of that quagmire as quickly as possible by telling them they should ask their child's doctor or point blank that teachers aren't allowed to discuss medications with parents.

If a student is ON a medication though and the parent notifies you so as to be aware of potential side effects or behavioral changes then by all means report what they ask but do not delve into your opinion on it or whether you think the dose should be increased or decreased or if you think one medication was preferable to another.

I am an educator. I am also a parent of a special needs child. I don't ever want a teacher or administrator telling me what medication they think I should give my child or going anywhere into that realm whatsoever. I do sometimes want them to report behaviors so I can report back to the psychiatrist.
#3 of 7 Old 03-06-2016, 10:58 AM

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Quoted: 514 Post(s)