Pooling our wisdom; getting svcs. for SN kids - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

#1 of 11 Old 06-09-2003, 08:54 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
OK, mamapie suggested this on another thread and I think it's a great idea plus I'm impatient so I'm stealing her idea and putting it here

I'm new to the world of trying to get the school district to provide services to my son (he has Asperger's and sensory issues) and so far it's been nothin' but frustrating; trying to figure out WHAT it is he needs, WHO I need to call to find out WHERE to go to get it... not to mention stonewalling school psychiatrists, the school district's definition of "special Need" vs. the Dr's and just to make things interesting, the fact that my son attends a fairly new charter school that is pretty slow to initiate contact with the school district at large. Whew!

So... let's share stories, good and bad- and if anyone has suggestions on what to do when you're ready to start or or or let's hear them!

Here's one that might be useful to a few people; esp. if you live in NM
http://www.pbdconline.org/

It's a website for parents of behaviorally different children and an organiztion that can help provide services if you live in NM but they also have a page of links that may be helpful.
#2 of 11 Old 06-09-2003, 09:36 PM

I have been through training at a parent resource center as a parent-advocate, so I have really gained some knowledge in this area. The big problem is that everything varies by area- I personally believe there should be national organizations for advocacy and protection. Woops, let me just answer the O.P.