Jobs for moms of special needs kids - Mothering Forums

Forum Jump: 

Old 05-17-2007, 08:56 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Does anyone have any ideas of what kinds of jobs a mom of a special needs child who can't be in group care, or really anyone else's care can get?

Something I can do at night; something that will pay reasonably well; something that isn't life-or-death urgent...

Any ideas?

My degree is in poetry/comp lit, minor in French.

I used to teach yoga, but I can't find enough work...and I can't be away from home really.

Any. ideas. at. all.?

We just got our bill for J's milk. And at this point the amount we owe is $37,000. The insurance doesn't want to pay because he doesn't have a specific diagnosis. :

Never mind that it keeps him out of the hospital...which just for a room at the ER is $2500 a day. So maybe $4000/month is too much for them to pay. :

We don't qualify for medicaid, even with a spend-down. But it's not like we're rolling in the money over here.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-17-2007, 09:02 PM

Have you tried freelance copy editing or writing? It's hard to break in and the pay isn't wonderful, but you can often work from home on your own schedule and it would fit well with your degree.

I do some work in this field and it helps, but the gigs are hard to find since there's tons of competition for every little job, especially anything that can be done from home...but when you do find one, it's pretty convenient.
Old 05-17-2007, 09:06 PM - Thread Starter

That's a good idea. I even have some college prof friends who might be interested in that....Hmmm....
Old 05-17-2007, 09:13 PM

translation work?

Or if you were interested, you could get braille transcription license and do transcribing.

Can I ask why your son wasn't able to take your milk? I don't want to be offensive I'm just nosy and curious. <sheepish look>
Old 05-17-2007, 09:14 PM

Quoted: 4 Post(s)